First Minister comments on Queen’s Birthday Honours


First Minister Alex Salmond today paid tribute to Scots recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list. 

The list includes former boxer Alex Arthur, politicians George Reid and Malcolm Bruce and from the world of arts Armando Iannucci and Jane Ryder.

The First Minister said:

“I congratulate all of those named in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.  Scots from all walks of life – including from the voluntary sector, public services, business and sport – have been honoured for their service to communities across the country.

“All of us in Scotland can take pride in the many and varied achievements of the successful nominees, whose achievements are rightly celebrated today.”

Among those Knighted are:

  • William Haughey for services to business and philanthropy
  • David McVicar for services to opera
  • Professor James McDonald for services to education, engineering and the economy
  • George Reid for services to Scottish politics and public life
  • Malcolm Bruce for public and political service

Recipients of the CBE include:

  • Shaheen Unis for services to business and community relations
  • Dr Gordon Rintoul for services to the museum sector
  • Christine Pollock for services to education
  • Dr David Walton for services to charity and the community in Glasgow
  • Bernadette Malone for services to local government

Recipients of the OBE include:

  • Armando Iannucci for services to broadcasting
  • Jamie Andrew for services to charity
  • Tom Murray for services to the legal system in Scotland
  • Jane Ryder for services to the arts and charity in Scotland
  • Robert Winter former Lord Provost of Glasgow, for services to local government and to the community in Glasgow
  • Iain McGeoch for services to business and charity in Scotland
  • Alexander MacDonald for services to local government and the community in the Western Isles

Among those receiving an MBE are:

  • Grant Morrison for services to film and literature
  • Alex Arthur for services to boxing
  • Hamish Adam for services to karate
  • Maureen Lorimer for services to special education
  • Barbara Johnstone for services to riding for the disabled
  • John Letford former Lord Provost of Dundee City Council, for services to local government
  • Agnes McGowan for services to smoking cessation
  • Professor Scott Murray for services to medical science
  • Dr Christopher Mason for services to the tourism industry in Scotland