Labour hold Cowdenbeath after by-election


The Labour party has held the Cowdenbeath seat for the Scottish parliament after the constituency held a by-election.

Alex Rowley won with a majority of 5488 votes from the SNP’s Natalie McGarry.  Mr Rowley attracted 11,192 votes from a 20,062 turnout.

The ballot was another disaster for the Lib Dems with the party attracting a mere 425 votes.

However the 34% turnout is sure to raise questions after national media gave little coverage to the contest.