Labour lose one tenth of councillors since 2007


The SNP have published a survey of Labour defections across all local authorities, which shows that almost one tenth of Labour councillors elected in 2007 are now standing for a different Party or as independents.

32 of the 348 Labour councillors elected in 2007 are known to have either joined other parties or now sit as Independent councillors – and most are also standing in the 2012 elections against their former Party.

The figures also include former Labour Scottish Parliamentary candidates from as recently as 2011.

Although Labour’s problems in Glasgow are well-documented, the survey published today reveals that similar incidents have occurred all over the country.

Local authorities involved in Labour defections include:

Aberdeen City Council, Clackmannanshire Council, Dumfries and Galloway Council, Dundee City Council, East Renfrewshire Council, Falkirk Council, Glasgow City Council, Inverclyde Council, Midlothian Council, North Ayrshire Council, North Lanarkshire Council, South Ayrshire Council,
South Lanarkshire Council, West Dunbartonshire Council, Western Isles Council