By-election win makes SNP largest party in Aberdeen


The SNP are now the largest party on Aberdeen City council following a by-election in the Dyce, Bucksburn and Danestone ward.  The by-election was caused by the death of a long standing Liberal Democrat councillor.  Neil MacGregor of the SNP was elected after the first count. Neil MacGregor, Scottish National Party 2090 – 51.3%
Graeme Lawrence, Scottish Labour Party 941 – 23.1%
Kristian Chapman, Scottish Liberal Democrats 446 – 10.9%
Ross Thomson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist 352 – 8.6%
Angela Joss, Independent 150 – 3.6%
Rhonda Reekie, Scottish Green Party 88 – 2.1%

The SNP now have 14 councillors, the Liberal Democrats 13 and Labour 10.  There are two Conservative groups of two councillors apiece.  There is one independent and one other by-election pending.  The next by-election is set for 23 June in the Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee ward.  This was caused by the resignation of Scott Cassie, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat but sat as an Independent after being charged with fraud.

This is not the first time the SNP in Aberdeen has won a local by-election shortly after the SNP won a Scottish election.  A few weeks after the 2007 victory the SNP took a seat from the Conservatives.