SNP complete parliamentary line up



The SNP has completed the party’s line up at Holyrood with the appointment of three party whips and nominations to Holyrood Committees. Committee members will be voted on by the Parliament tomorrow and Committees will then elect their Conveners at their first meeting.

The SNP whips team under Chief Whip Brian Adam will be completed with Bill Kidd (Glasgow Anniesland) leading a backbench whips team of newly elected MSP for Angus South Graeme Dey and returning MSP Fiona McLeod who represents Strathkelvin and Bearsden.

Commenting on the appointments Minister for Parliamentary Business and Chief Whip Brian Adam said:

“These appointments reflect the skills and experience of the SNP parliamentary group.  Alongside experienced MSPs we have new members with considerable talents and experience from Westminster and Local Government who will take up roles as Deputy Conveners.

“I am confident all SNP conveners will work with the members of their committee of all parties to hold this Government to account, to improve legislation and to ensure all MSPs in this parliament play a full role in making Scotland better.”

The following people are being nominated to committee’s convened by the party;
•    Education and Culture – Stewart Maxwell (West of Scotland)
•    Europe and External Affairs – Christina McKelvie (Hamilton, Larkhall and
•    Finance – Kenneth Gibson (Cunninghame North)
•    Infrastructure and Capital Investment – Maureen Watt (Aberdeen South and
North Kincardine)
•    Justice – Christine Grahame (Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale)
•    Local Government and Regeneration – Joe FitzPatrick (Dundee City West)
•    Rural Affairs, Climate Change and Environment – Rob Gibson (Caithness,
Sutherland & Ross)
•    Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments – Dave Thompson (Skye,
Lochaber and Badenoch)
•    Subordinate Legislation – Nigel Don (Angus North and the Mearns)

Where the SNP will hold the Deputy Convenership the committee nominees include

•    Energy, Economy and Tourism – John Wilson (Central Scotland)
•    Equal Opportunities – Stuart McMillan (West of Scotland)
•    Finance – John Mason (Glasgow Shettleston)
•    Health and Sport – Bob Doris (Glasgow)
•    Infrastructure and Capital Investment – Jamie Hepburn (Cumbernauld and
•    Local Government & Regeneration – Cllr Kevin Stewart (Aberdeen Central)
•    Public Petitions – Sandra White (Glasgow Kelvin)
•    Rural Affairs, Climate Change and Environment – Annabelle Ewing (Mid
Scotland and Fife)
•    Subordinate Legislation – James Dornan (Glasgow Cathcart)