SPL title goes to Ibrox


by Alan Barbour

Rangers clinched the SPL title with an emphatic 5-1 win over Kilmarnock at Rugby Park this afternoon while Celtic ran out 4-0 winners over Motherwell.

The Ibrox side couldn’t have got off to a better start with a goal in the first minute.

Kyle Lafferty tipped the ball over Killie keeper Cammy Bell from the edge of the box.
Further goals from Steven Naismith (fifth minute) and a second from Kyle Lafferty (seventh minute) effectively put Rangers on easy street. Celtic meanwhile got on the scoresheet after Gary Hooper pounced on a rebound to stab the ball past Lee Hollis.
Georgios Samaras, Shaun Moloney and Paddy McCourt add to the score but it is academic as the destination of the title has been put beyond doubt.

Rangers went 5-0 up following goals from Nikica Jelavic (booked after removing his top) and Kyle Lafferty secured his hat-trick by poking the ball into the net from 10 yards.

Killie restored some pride after a 25 yard free kick from James Dayton was deflected into the Rangers net.

After a pulsating end to the 2010/11 season, Walter Smith’s side are handed the trophy for the third successive year.

Celtic meanwhile look forward to meeting Motherwell again to decide the outcome of the Scottish Cup final.