Times ‘Briton of the Year’ award rounds off memorable 12 months for Salmond


Westminster SNP leader Angus Robertson MP has welcomed the news that Alex Salmond has won the prestigious The Times 2011 Briton of the Year award.

The award was announced yesterday and rounds off a memorable year for the SNP leader and Scottish First Minister that saw the SNP win the first ever majority government at the Scottish Parliament.

Dubbing the last twelve months: “2011 -The year of Alex Salmond”, the London based newspaper added:

“Mr Salmond demonstrated the electoral appeal of claiming a monopoly upon optimism.  He persuaded voters that he was a man of bold vision, a man who, with charisma, would be able to do things differently.”

Mr Robertson said that he was delighted with the First Minister’s success:

“Alex is a charismatic leader both for Scotland and for the SNP.  This award is testament to the ambition of the Scottish people and the hard work of the SNP.

“The First Minster’s aim and his drive is to continue moving Scotland forward, and to deliver the long awaited referendum on Independence.

“It has been a remarkable year for the First Minister, the SNP and Scotland but we are well aware of the hard work that lies ahead of us over the coming months and years.

“Alex Salmond and the SNP have put their faith in the people of Scotland which will allow the voters the choice to decide the future when the referendum comes in the second half of the parliamentary campaign.

“As we move closer to the referendum the First Minister and the SNP will engage in a serious and robust debate with everyone who has an interest in moving Scotland forward.  The debate will give the people of Scotland the facts they need to decide how they are going to vote on the constitutional future at the referendum on Independence.”

The Times award is the latest in a number of similar accolades bestowed on Scotland’s First Minister who also won the “Best Politician” award at The Scottish Green Energy Awards.
In October, Mr Salmond received the “South Australia International Climate Change Leadership Award” from the government of South Australia.
He also picked up the UK Political Studies Association “Politician of the Year” award, the Spectator magazine’s “Politician of the Year” award, as well as the Herald newspaper’s “Politician of the Year” prize.